Bartercard Premier Cricket Victorian Womens Cricket Association

Victorian Womens Cricket Association

The flagship women's competition

The Victorian Women's Cricket Association is the flagship women's competition in the state encompassing 30 clubs, competing across six levels of competition in the metropolitan area, as well as Ballarat and Geelong.

The competition serves as a pathway for cricketers to reach the elite level with Commonwealth Bank VicSpirit superstars such as Jess Cameron, Julie Hunter and Meg Lanning regularly playing for their club side.

The first recorded women's match was played between the "Eleven Blues" and the "Eleven Reds" on April 7, 1874 at Bendigo, with the VWCA formed in 1905.

The Association has grown to its current level which maintains Victoria as the largest women's cricket state in Australia.

The VWCA club competition is divided into the following competitions:

Premier competitions (turf):

  • Essteele Premier Firsts; and
  • Essteele Premier Seconds

One Day competitions (turf & synthetic):

  • One Day Shield;
  • One Day Central;
  • One Day North West; and
  • One Day South East

Further information regarding the Essteele Premier Competition can be found at

You can also keep up-to-date on the VWCA by following @_VWCA on Twitter at

Reward a volunteer

Enter a volunteer from your club in the Recognition Program


Proudly Supported By