Back to News Three Victorians make Australia Under-17 squad

Three Victorians make Australia Under-17 squad

Cricket Australia has announced the Australia Under-17 team following the conclusion of the 2017-18 Under 17 National Championships in Brisbane yesterday.

The Youth Selection Panel has selected a 14-player squad, which will represent the Cricket Australia XI at this summer's Under 19 National Championships, to be played in Tasmania in December.

Victorians Paddy Rowe (Left), Mackenzie Harvey (Centre) and Todd Murphy (Right) have all been selected, with Harvey and Rowe earning selection for the second year running.


Australia Under 17 Squad

Kyle Brazell - Cricket Australia XI 

Damien Burrage - Western Australia

Oliver Davies - NSW Metro

Will Fort - ACT/NSW Country

Mackenzie Harvey - VIC Metro

Josh Hoffmann - South Australia

Thomas Kelly - South Australia

Liam Marshall - NSW Metro

Todd Murphy - VIC Country

Dominic O'Shannessy - ACT/NSW Country

Patrick Rowe - VIC Country

Ajay Singh - NSW Metro

Matthew Willans - Queensland

Glenn Winsor - ACT/NSW Country


Ryan Harris and Matthew Elliott will act as coach and assistant coach respectively for the team at the Under 19 National Championships.

Cricket Australia National Talent Manager and National Selection Panel member Greg Chappell said:

"The most pleasing feature of this year's Under 17 National Championships has been the quality of the batting, which I think has been as good as it has been for some time," Chappell said. 

"These boys will go on to play as a team at the Under 19 National Championships, and will come into calculations for the Australia Under 19 team that goes to New Zealand in January to play in the 2018 ICC Under 19 Cricket World Cup.

"Some of the boys that have been in Australian teams for the last couple of years are still showing through well - Liam Marshall and Oliver Davies from New South Wales, and Mackenzie Harvey and Patrick Rowe from Victoria.

"All of the players selected are very exciting young cricketers who have performed well at this carnival, and we look forward to seeing how they step up at the next level." 

Victoria Country were also awarded the Spririt of Cricket award at the conclusion of the tournament.

Proudly Supported By