Recognising the state鈥檚 best

January 2, 2013
Category: Community,
Recognising the state鈥檚 best

Cricket Victoria honoured 20 outstanding individuals when it hosted the 2012 Kookaburra Volunteer Recognition Breakfast at the MCG on day three of the Vodafone Boxing Day Test.

Throughout the year, cricket clubs and associations from across the state were asked to nominate their highly valued volunteers.

The Victorian Minister for Sport and Recreation, the Hon. Hugh Delahunty, MP, was on hand to give out awards, while CV Chief Executive Officer Tony Dodemaide and former Australian star Melanie Jones embraced the importance of recognising volunteers.

“When I travel the world, I’m always proud to say that we have one of the best volunteer systems going around,” Jones said.

Among this year’s 20 recipients was Footscray-Edgewater’s John Lord, who has spent more than 25 years volunteering at Dodemaide’s former club.

“John is an example of what a club is built on,” Mr Dodemaide said at the event.

“We should never take that for granted.”

As a life member of Footscray-Edgewater Cricket Club, Lord has spent his time manning the scoreboard while also supporting its senior teams and junior development program. 

“It means a lot (to receive this award),” Mr Lord said

“You don’t do it for the recognition but when it comes along you feel wonderful.”

From presidents to curators, each of these recipients devotes endless hours to their respective clubs and Cricket Victoria would like to congratulate them for their continuous efforts.

The 2012 Kookaburra Sport Volunteer Recognition Program recipients were:

Phillip Surrey (Beechworth Wanderers Cricket Club)
Tony Fitzpatrick (Bendigo Cricket Club)
Christian Trotter (Eildon Park Cricket Club)
Murray Arnel (Elaine Cricket Club)
Lance Draper (Federal District Cricket Association & Mordialloc Cricket Club)
John Lord (Footscray-Edgewater Cricket Club)
Craig Swan (Hoppers Crossing Cricket Club)
Kelly Forge (Karramomous Cricket Club)
Alan Summerfield (Korumburra Cricket Club)
Peter Keyaerts (Lyndale Cricket Club)
Peter Duffy (Mentone Cricket Club)
Simon Fiedler (Mornington Cricket Club)
Ivan Eaves (Old Mentonians Cricket Club)
Karen Jennings (Pearcedale Cricket Club)
Phillipa Hodgens (Port Fairy Cricket Club)
Christine Boyle (Port Melbourne Cricket Club)
Ray Freeman (Ringwood Cricket Club )
Luke Henderson (South Croydon Cricket Club)
Kevin Boyd (Stoneyford Cricket Club)
Robert Garlick (Yea Tigers Cricket Club) 

Recent Posts
  • Categories


Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.

No products in the cart.