Vics included in ID Australian squad

March 8, 2017
Vics included in ID Australian squad

Five Victorian cricketers have been selected for the Australian Cricketers with an Intellectual Disability (ID) training squad.

Gavan Hicks, Lachlan Macrae, David Alford, Daynah Hopkins and Mitch Rabl have earned their place in the squad following performances at the National Cricket Inclusion Championships (NCIC) held in Geelong in January this year.

The squad will attend a three-day training camp at the BUPA National Cricket Centre in Brisbane during April, where selectors will then select a final squad of 14 players to tour England in July for a tri-series against South Africa and England.

Having once famously amassed 113 off 100 balls against England in 2009, Hicks will once more be a prominent figure in the national squad after scoring the most runs at the NCIC in Geelong. He also captained the Victorian Vikings to the 2017 NCIC title in the ID Division.

Left-arm quick Macrae and bowling all-rounder Hopkins join Hicks in the training squad as the other Victorians who have previously represented Australia.

Meanwhile, Alford and Rabl, who nabbed two wickets in an over during the NCIC Grand Final, will look to breakthrough for national honours for the first time.

Alford’s batting and leadership qualities drew him the role of Victorian Vikings vice-captain, and as a result, a call-up in the Australian training squad.

Four One Day Internationals and four Twenty20 matches will make up the tri-series, with a Final to be played in both formats.

Cricket Victoria CEO Tony Dodemaide congratulated the Victorian team members on their selection.

“It’s terrific for Victorian cricket to have five fellow Vics in line to represent their country. It’s an honour that every cricketer aspires too,” said Dodemaide.

“I was at the championships in Geelong earlier this year and watched Gavan Hicks and his impressive team in action. It’s great that our standout performers from that week have been rewarded.”

Full training squad
Gavan Hicks (VIC)
Lachlan Macrae (VIC)
David Alford (VIC)
Daynah Hopkins (VIC)
Mitch Rabl (VIC)
Brett Wilson (QLD)
Brendan Westlake (QLD)
Hadyn Brumm (QLD)
David Baird (QLD)
Nicholas McConnell (QLD)
Nathan Nunn (NSW)
Simon Schofield (NSW)
Chris McQueen (SA)
Luke Goodman (SA)
Scott May (SA)
Matthew Greenwood (SA)
Jonathan Flowers (WA)
Boyd Duffield (WA)
Anthony Kalameris (WA)
Nick Rogerson (WA)
Justin Nilon (TAS)
Conor Shepard (TAS)


Recent Posts
  • Categories


Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.

No products in the cart.