2011 AGM

August 30, 2011
Category: Media Releases,
2011 AGM

The Cricket Victoria (CV) Annual General Meeting was held last night at CV offices in Jolimont, with a number of significant announcements made and decisions taken.

Malcolm Smith was re-elected to the Board, along with Victorian Women’s Cricket Association President Claudia Fatone, who becomes the first female elected Director.

Jim Higgs, who has spent the last three years serving as a Director, was the other nominee, with his significant contribution duly noted by the Chairman, Geoff Tamblyn. Higgs has been a CV Board Member since 2009 and his links with Victorian cricket date back to 1970.

Fatone was appreciative of the support of the delegates stating “It is an honour and a privilege to be elected as a Director of Cricket Victoria. I understand the responsibility that the position holds and look for my skills and experience to assist Cricket Victoria achieve its strategic objectives”

A special resolution was also passed by the delegates approving significant amendments to the constitution, articles and by-laws. As a result of the approval, the number of delegates representing member clubs and affiliates at General Meetings will be effectively halved, although there will be minimal change to the voting influence of those members in percentage terms. The rationale for the change was to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of General Meetings, which previously required over 50 official representative attendees as well as management.

CEO, Tony Dodemaide, summarised organisational performance against the terms and objectives set out in the 2007-2011 Strategic Plan, which had now reached its conclusion. Increased ground attendance, participation, umpire numbers, strong State team performance and governance were amongst many of the objectives which met or exceeded targets set for the period. Dodemaide noted that it was the intention of the CV Board to consider closely the recently endorsed 2011-2015 Cricket Australia Strategic Plan to align local terms and objectives as much as possible with the national body and other states moving forward.

Michael Taylor and John Craig were inducted as Life Members of Cricket Victoria. The Chairman stated that Taylor, who spent eight years on the Board and 16 years as a delegate far exceeded the normal requirements for Life Membership. Taylor also represented the state for nine seasons.

John Craig, one of the longest serving delegates from the VSDCA, has been an integral part of the cricket community, becoming a club delegate in 1972 and a Cricket Victorian delegate continuously since 1976. He was an inaugural member of the VSCDA Hall of Fame and in 2005 received an Award for 50 years of service to cricket.

For the first time, players were also recognised under a new category of Life Membership. Cricket Victoria’s Chairman Geoff Tamblyn introduced the new category, to honor the players, both male and female, for their magnificent service, at club, state and national level.

“Life membership has normally been associated with the administrators and backroom boys,” Tamblyn said. “We felt the players, too, deserve to be honored for their hundreds and thousands of hours of involvement.”

Shane Warne, Ian Redpath, Graham Yallop, Dean Jones and Sharon Tredrea were the first recipients of the new Cricket Victoria award to recognise their considerable playing achievements.


DEAN JONES, now 50, made 10,412 runs at an average of 52.06 in 124 first-class matches for Victoria. His 33 centuries was a record until 2010-11 when surpassed by Brad Hodge. He captained Victoria and in 1994-95 surpassed 1000 runs for the season, including a career-best 324 not out at the MCG. He also played 52 Tests for Australia, making 2631 runs at an average of 46.

IAN REDPATH, 60, is also among Victoria’s top ten run-makers with 6203 at an average of 41.52. Included were 13 centuries, including a highest of 261. In 66 Tests for Australia he built a reputation as a supreme team player, reliable in the toughest situations. He made three centuries in his last Test series in 1975-76. He later coached Victoria with success and has been a long-time mentor for hundreds of Geelong’s emerging young players.

SHARON TREDREA, 57, collected 204 first-class wickets at an average of just 14.65. She also hit 2258 runs, at an average of 30.93, in her 114 first-class matches. She had a wonderful club and state career, culminating in 1990-91 when she made a comeback as Victoria’s captain and helped the team to the Australian championship, in Melbourne. She also played ten Tests and 31 ODIs for Australia, averaging 31 with the bat and 26 with the ball.

SHANE WARNE, 42, took 161 wickets in his 46 first-class matches for Victoria. Included were eight five-fors and one haul of ten wickets in a game. A premiership player as a teenager at St Kilda, he was fast-tracked into international ranks and remains one of only two bowlers to take more than 700 Test wickets. In 2001 he was honored with selection alongside Don Bradman as one of the five Wisden Cricketers of the Century.

GRAHAM YALLOP, 58, is one of only two Victorians (alongside Matthew Elliott) to make more than 1400 runs in a season. His mega year came in 1982-83 when he amassed 1418 runs at an average of 67, with four centuries. In 87 state games, Yallop made 6815 runs at an average of 47.99 with 20 centuries. He twice made twin centuries at Shield level. He was also an outstanding Test No.3 with 2756 runs at an average of 41 in his 39 Tests. In 1978-79 he captained Australia at Ashes level.


MICHAEL TAYLOR began playing with the South Melbourne Cricket Club in 1972-73. He was a member of the Victorian side for nine seasons before moving to Tasmania. Upon his return to Victoria he become a CV delegate and resigned this month after 16 years of service. During that time, he was also on the CV board for eight years.

JOHN CRAIG played 339 First XI games for VSCDA club Ormond from 1960 to 1989. He was elected as a CV delegate in 1976 and continues today in that role. In 2005, Craig received an Award for 50 years of service to cricket He was also an inaugural member of the VSCDA Hall of Fame.

Recent Posts
  • Categories


Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.

No products in the cart.