All in a day’s work

December 28, 2011
Category: Game Development,
All in a day’s work

Cricket Victoria honoured 20 outstanding individuals on day three of the Boxing Day Test when it hosted the 2011 Kookaburra Volunteer Recognition Breakfast at the MCG.

Throughout the year, Victorian cricket clubs and associations are asked to nominate their highly valued volunteers, with recognition occurring on the grandest stage of all.

The Victorian Minister for Sport and Recreation, the Hon. Hugh Delahunty, and Australian fast bowling legend Merv Hughes were both on hand to recognise the hard work of the recipients.

“To all the volunteers here, you are the backbone of the club,” Hughes said at the event.

“If you haven’t got those guys around the club then the club just doesn’t exist.”

Among the 20 recipients honoured at the breakfast was Essendon Maribyrnong’s Natalie Schilov.

Schilov was acknowledged for spending countless hours at her club assisting in delivering school clinics, organising teams, running the MILO in2CRICKET Centre and coaching the under-16 girls team.

“To be recognised is overwhelming and really something special for me,” Schilov, 21, said.

“As a volunteer you do a lot of work and it’s been really nice that people actually notice it.”

“I love working with the kids at the club and seeing things get done…when everything runs smoothly it’s a much better day.”

From coaching and curators to sponsorship and kiosk service, the continuous support from all of this year’s recipients is highly appreciated by Cricket Victoria and its respective clubs.

The 2011 Kookaburra Sport Volunteer Recognition Program recipients were:

Chris Gorrie (Washington Park CC), Chris Kenny (Melbourne Deaf CC), Dave Braham (Cranbourne CC), Fran Hurst (Lower Plenty CC), Geoff Hart (Williamstown CC), Kellie Rowler (Frankston Women’s CC), Ken Frew (East Warnambool YCW CC), Kevin Dawber (Grovedale CC), Kevin Sullivan (Gisborne & District CA), Kevin Vernon (Melton CC), Michael Kwasny (Richmond CC), Michael Moulton (Barwon Heads CC), Michael Murphy (Brierly Christ Church CC), Natalie Schilov (Essendon Maribyrnong Park Ladies CC), Paul Sheehan (Port Fairy CC), Rob Moore (North West Metropolitan CA), Stephen Armstrong (Deakin CC), Steve Davies (Wantirna South CC), Teresa Dale (Mornington CC) and Wade Petersen (Murchison CC).

Recent Posts
  • Categories


Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.

No products in the cart.