Cricket Victoria crown Media Award winners

March 19, 2013
Category: Media Releases,
Cricket Victoria crown Media Award winners

The Age's chief cricket writer, Chloe Saltau, has been presented with the prestigious Cricket Victoria Media Award at The Olsen Hotel this evening.

Saltau’s stunning feature on the plight of Fawad Ahmed, which for the first time provided Victorian cricket lovers with an insight into the persecution he faced in Pakistan, was an outstanding piece of journalism and was recognised with the major award of the night.

Other award winners included the Herald Sun’s Mark Hayes, who picked up the Social Media Award and the Commonwealth Bank Bushrangers Award for his profile on Victorian batsman Rob Quiney ahead of his Test debut and The Age’s Jesse Hogan, who claimed the Twenty20 Award for his in-depth look behind the scenes at the Melbourne Renegades improvement during BBL|02.

Rebecca Williams, also from the Herald Sun, was a standout winner of the Commonwealth Bank VicSpirit Award for her double page spread on Meg Lanning after her record-breaking century against New Zealand in December.

Hobsons Bay Leader’s Luke D’Anello was presented with the Premier Cricket Award for his piece on former West Australian turned Footscray Edgewater batsman Wes Robinson.

D’Anello’s colleague Megan Hustwaite won the Suburban Award for her story titled “In Black and Whites” on Black Caviar’s trainer, Peter Moody, and his relationship with the South Belgrave Cricket Club, while Cranbourne News’ Jarrod Potter took home the Country Award for his article on Devon Meadows Cricket Club life member Alan Tibballs.

Perennial winner John Zarb claimed the Community Radio Award weekly program covering Bushrangers, VicSpirit, BBL, Premier Cricket and local competitions on Radio Casey 97.7FM.

Brilliant sports photographer Nigel Hallett added to his long list of Cricket Victoria Media Awards with this year’s Photography Award.

Cricket Victoria would like to thank the media for the significant role it has played during the 2012-13 season in lifting the profile and exposure of the game and to congratulate all of this season’s award winners.

Cricket Victoria Media Awards

Cricket Victoria Award- Chloe Saltau (The Age)- Spinning out of the rough

Commonwealth Bank Bushrangers Award- Mark Hayes (Herald Sun)- Bob the Builder

Commonwealth Bank VicSpirit Award- Rebecca Williams (Herald Sun)- Megnum Force

Twenty20 Award- Jesse Hogan (The Age)- Remaking the Renegades

Social Media Award- Mark Hayes (Herald Sun)

Premier Cricket Award- Luke D’Anello (Hobsons Bay Leader)- Robinson’s back in the swing

Country Award- Jarrod Potter (Cranbourne News)- Not over ’til it’s over

Suburban Award- Megan Hustwaite (Free Press Leader)- In Black and whites

Community Radio Award-John Zarb (Radio Casey 97.7FM)

Recent Posts
  • Categories


Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.

No products in the cart.