CV Media Award Winners

April 4, 2012
Category: Media Releases,
CV Media Award Winners

Esteemed cricket writer Ken Piesse has taken out the major prize during tonight's media awards component at the Cricket Victoria Gala at Docklands.

Piesse’s engaging feature in the Australian Cricket Society’s publication, thePavilion, which chronicled the highs and lows of Bryce McGain’s career was a captivating read that provided genuine insight into the one Test hero.

The Cricket Victoria Award acknowledges the most outstanding piece of journalism relating to Victorian cricket.

Earlier in the evening, The Age’s outstanding coverage throughout 2011-12 was acknowledged with four gongs bestowed upon the newspaper.

Chief cricket writer Chloe Saltau was recognized twice, winning the Twenty20 Award for her in-depth piece titled ‘The Stars are born’ which looked at the formation of the Melbourne Stars, as well as the Commonwealth Bank Bushrangers Awardfor her entertaining insightinto Victorian speedster Jayde Herrick in’Finding the right polish.’

Colleague Peter Hanlon was recognized with the Commonwealth Bank VicSpirit Awardfor his exceptional story on Meg Lanning on the eve of the Boxing Day Test titled Meg flyin’, whileJesse Hogan was the inaugural recipient of the Social Media Award.

The Kookaburra Premier Cricket Awardwas awarded to the Northcote Leader’sPatrick Lane for his entertaining article titled ‘Welcome to the lair’, which delved into the inner sanctum of the Northcote Cricket Club.

The ABC’sRob Harrisclaimed theCountry Award for a third occasionfor his engrossing feature onMelbourne Country Week, while the  Suburban Award went to another former winner, withFox Sports’Melinda Farrell honoured for her incredible feature on the Sunshine Heights Cricket Cluband the work being done in Melbourne’s west to promote cricket to all cultures. 

Perennial winner John Zarb claimed the Community Radio Award for his interview with Riverside Cricket Club’s Scott Gibbs on Radio Casey 97.7FM.

Cricket Victoria would like to thank the media for the significant role it has played during the 2011-12 season in lifting the profile and exposure of the game and to congratulate all of this season’s award winners.

Cricket Victoria Media Awards

Cricket Victoria Award – Ken Piesse (Pavilion) –Bryce McGain’s amazing journey

Commonwealth Bank Bushrangers Award -Chloe Saltau (The Age) – Finding the right polish

Commonwealth Bank VicSpirit Award -Peter Hanlon (The Age) –Meg flyin’

Twenty20 Award -Chloe Saltau (The Age) –The Stars are born

Social Media Award – Jesse Hogan (The Age)

Kookaburra Premier Cricket Award – Patrick Lane (Northcote Leader) –Welcome to the lair

Country Award -Rob Harris (ABC) –Melbourne Country Week feature

Suburban Award – Melinda Farrell (Fox Sports) –Sunshine Heights Cricket Club feature

Community Radio Award – John Zarb (Radio Casey 97.7FM) – Interview with Riverside Cricket Club’s Scott Gibbs

Recent Posts
  • Categories


Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.

No products in the cart.