Emma Inglis named Captain for DEC Spirit in 2011-12

June 24, 2011
Category: Media Releases,
Emma Inglis named Captain for DEC Spirit in 2011-12

Cricket Victoria has today announced the Captain and Vice-Captain for the 2011-12 DEC Spirit squad.

Wicket-keeper and Vice-Captain Emma Inglis has been elevated to take the reigns as Captain whilst Southern Stars and Spirit top order batter Jess Cameron will be second in charge for the upcoming season.

22-year old Inglis makes history this year as one of the youngest female to ever captain a Victorian state team.

“I’m pretty stoked at this opportunity,” Inglis said.

“It’s an honour to captain Victoria and lead such a great bunch of players,

“We will definitely be looking to capitalise on the season just passed and attempt to come away with both the WNCL and Twenty20 titles in 2011/12,” she said. 

Cameron’s level headedness and leadership under pressure throughout her time as a senior member of the Spirit squad, has made her a perfect candidate for the role of Vice-Captain.

This rise in responsibility will no doubt test her consistent form and healthy domestic average along with international commitments, nevertheless, Cameron says she is committed and up for the challenge.

“Yes it will be a big responsibility,” said the 21 year old.

“I am looking forward to taking this next step in my playing career and assisting Emma with the upcoming season,” she said.

Inglis’ promotion to Captain comes after a stint of movement within the Spirit camp with former Skipper Rachael Haynes relocating interstate.

Renee Melton and Naomi Fullwood have also expressed that they will not resume their positions in this year’s squad.

The three exits have made room for young talents including Molly Strano and Cassie Brock to be elevated to full contracts, whilst also allowing Emily McIntyre to return to the team after a brief stint away from the game.

The 18-woman squad still includes 14 contracted players and four rookies.

The DEC Spirit Squad for Season 2011/12:

Emma Inglis (C)

Jess Cameron (VC)

Kristen Beams

Briana Binch

Cassie Brock

Sarah Elliott

Kathleen Hempenstall

Julie Hunter

Meg Lanning

Annie Maloney

Emily McIntyre

Clea Smith

Molly Strano

Elyse Villani

DEC Spirit Rookie List for Season 2011/12:

Laura Croft

Kirsty Lamb 

Anna Lanning

Stephanie Townsend

Recent Posts
  • Categories


Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.

No products in the cart.