Five Victorian women earn national contracts

Five Victorian women earn national contracts

Cricket Australia's National Selection Panel (NSP) has today confirmed the 14 Australian women to receive national contracts for the 2019-20 season, as well as a 14-player Women's National Performance Squad (NPS).

Contracts have been awarded based on performances over the last 12 months and with an eye to the future, as the Australian Women’s Team prepares for an unprecedented year ahead. The 2019-20 season includes a Women’s Ashes campaign in England and culminates with the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, being hosted in Australia. The team will be aiming to defend its T20 World Cup title at home, with the final to be played at the MCG on International Women’s Day, 2020.

2019-20 CA Women’s Contract List
Nicole Bolton
Nicola Carey
Ashleigh Gardner
Rachael Haynes
Alyssa Healy
Jessica Jonassen
Delissa Kimmince
Meg Lanning (VIC)
Sophie Molineux (VIC)
Beth Mooney
Ellyse Perry (VIC)
Megan Schutt
Elyse Villani (VIC)
Georgia Wareham (VIC)

CA has also confirmed the 14 players that will take part in the NPS Program at the Bupa National Cricket Centre (NCC) in Brisbane. Head Coach Leah Poulton will again lead the highly successful program that saw two players progress to the Australian team last season.

Rachel Trenaman and Annabel Sutherland will participate in the program part-time with the duo both balancing cricket and Year 12 commitments.

2019 Women’s National Performance Squad 
Lauren Cheatle (NSW, 20)
Maddy Darke (NSW, 18)
Josie Dooley (QLD, 19)
Nicole Faltum (VIC, 18)
Heather Graham (WA, 22)
Alana King (VIC, 23)
Maitlan Brown (ACT, 21)
Tahlia McGrath (SA, 23)
Annabel Sutherland (VIC, 17)
Rachel Trenaman (NSW, 17)
Belinda Vakarewa (NSW, 21)
Tayla Vlaeminck (VIC, 20)
Amanda-Jade Wellington (SA, 21)
Tahlia Wilson (NSW, 19)

Commenting on the 2019-20 contract list and NPS, National Selector Shawn Flegler said:

“Overall there has been minimal change in the CA Contract list, which we believe is a good sign leading into a very important year with the Ashes and a home T20 World Cup.

“Georgia Wareham was upgraded onto the list during the season and has been rewarded with her first full contract.

“Amanda-Jade Wellington misses out on a contract after losing her spot in the side earlier in the season. Amanda-Jade is aware of what she needs to improve to put herself back in contention for selection and her first opportunity is through the NPS Program.

“Tayla Vlaeminck and Lauren Cheatle both played games for Australia last summer and, like all players in the domestic system, are eligible for an upgrade contract should they force their way into the Australian Team over the coming season.”

The Australian Women’s Team had an outstanding summer, winning Twenty20 and One-Day International series against New Zealand and Pakistan, as well as claiming the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in the West Indies.

Australia sits four points clear on top of the ICC Women’s Championship standings, having claimed six victories from as many ODIs this summer. Australia won the inaugural Championship and will be looking to repeat the feat, with the top four teams gaining direct qualification for the ICC Women’s World Cup in 2021 in New Zealand.

The number one ranked T20I and ODI team in the world, Australia also boasts two players ranked number one in the world for their craft, with Megan Schutt the top ranked T20I bowler and Ellyse Perry the leading ODI all-rounder.

Recent Posts
  • Categories


Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.

No products in the cart.