Cricket Australia Squads named for International Cricket Inclusion Series

May 17, 2022
Cricket Australia Squads named for International Cricket Inclusion Series

10 Victorian cricketers have been selected to represent Australia at this year’s Commonwealth Bank International Cricket Inclusion Series in Brisbane.

The series will be held at the National Cricket Campus and will see all Australian national disability squads – deaf, blind, and intellectual disability (ID) – play five T20Is and three ODI matches from June 8-17.

Australia’s Deaf and ID squads will host England and Australia’s Blind squad will face New Zealand.

Three Victorian players feature in each of the Blind and Deaf squads, with four players in the ID squad.

In the Blind squad, Victoria will be represented by Ned Brewer-Maiga, Nathan Letts and Steve Obeid.

Callum Asbury, Tyson Hay and Justin Morgan feature in the Deaf squad, which will be coached by Jason Mathers.

Gavan Hicks, Mitchell Lawrence, Lachlan MacRae and Patrick Wheeler have been named in the ID squad.

Australia’s Blind squad last competed internationally at the 2018 Blind Cricket World Cup in Dubai, while the Deaf squad will be in action for the first time since the 2018 Deaf Cricket World Cup in India.

The ID squad’s last international series was against England, as part of the 2019 INAS Global Games in Brisbane.

Thanks to the support of Commonwealth Bank, cricket is the first non-Paralympic Australian sport to fully fund national disability squads.

Australian Blind Squad
Matt McCarthy © (QLD/Nundah)
Michael Berg (WA/High Wycombe)
Ned Brewer-Maiga (VIC/Greensborough)
Brad Brider (WA/Joondalup)
Matt Cameron (WA/Joondalup)
Shaun Fitzpatrick (NSW/Prairiewood)
Ryan Honschooten (WA/Gosnells)
Sean Kendrick (QLD/Westlake)
Nathan Letts (VIC/Brunswick East)
Steffan Nero (NSW/Parramatta)
Steve Obeid (VIC/St Albans)
Vaughan Roles (NSW/North Parramatta)
Oscar Stubbs (NSW/Glenwood)
Lachlan Wallace (SA/Adelaide)
Michael Zannis (SA/Rostrevor)

Coach: Mechelle Hare (NSW/Manly CC)
Assistant Coach: Daniel Drew (NSW/Northern Districts CC)
Team Manager: David Penn (SA/Adelaide University)

Australian Deaf Squad
Andrew Park © (NSW/Cammeray CC)
Callum Asbury (VIC/Inverloch CC)
Lewis Beard (NSW/Sydney University CC)
Harry Bell (NSW/Gordon CC)
Nick Budden (QLD/Southern Districts CC)
Tyson Hay (VIC/Terang CC)
David Melling (WA/Melville CC)
Justin Morgan (VIC/Heyfield CC)
Shrey Patel (SA/Gaza CC)
Austin Phillip (NSW/Parramatta District CC)
Matthew Shenton (WA/Hilton Bicton CC)
Luke Trudgett (QLD/Kenmore)
Sean Walsh (QLD/Northern Suburbs District CC)
Cameron Wilson (NT/Braitling CC)

Coach: Jason Mathers (VIC/Mt Martha CC)
Assistant Coach: Job van Bunge (WA/WACA)
Team Manager: Chris Ashenden (NSW/Kellyville Ridge CC)

Australian Intellectual Disability (ID) Squad
Haydn Brumm © (QLD/Gold Crest CC)
Craig Blaschke* (TAS/Rokeby CC)
Joel Corbett* (TAS/Old Beach CC)
Boyd Duffield (WA/South Perth CC)
Jesse Goodman (SA/Enfield United CC)
Gavan Hicks (VIC/Thomson CC)
Zeb Hovington* (TAS/Ulverstone)
Mitchell Lawrence* (VIC/Axe Creek CC)
Lachlan MacRae (VIC/Endeavour Hills CC)
Sean McGowan (WA/Leeming Spartan CC)
Jamie Phillips (QLD/Runaway Bay CC)
Connor Sheppard (TAS/South Launceston CC)
Patrick Wheeler* (VIC/Kingston Heath CC)
Nat Young* (NSW/South Tamworth CC)

Coach: John Lonergan (SA/Goodwood CC)
Assistant Coach: Nathan Dodd (QLD/Western Suburbs CC)
Assistant Coach: Liam Devlin (TAS/South Launceston CC)
Team Manager: Joanna Connolly (SA)

*denotes pending eligibility status of cricketer

Recent Posts
  • Categories


Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.

No products in the cart.