Victorian teams announced for National Cricket Inclusion Championships

December 17, 2019
Victorian teams announced for National Cricket Inclusion Championships

Cricket Victoria is pleased to name its teams for the National Cricket Inclusion Championships (NCIC) to be held in Geelong from January 13 - 17.

Now entering its fourth year, the NCIC is where more than 200 of Australia’s most talented cricketers with an intellectual disability, blind and low vision, as well as deaf and hard of hearing come together to compete for one of three titles.

Victoria will be looking to defend the Intellectual Disability title, following a strong win in 2019. In addition, they will be looking to improve on a semi final loss in Deaf Men and Blind Men divisions.

For a second year in a row, Victoria will be sending a Deaf Women’s and Hard of Hearing team. All players will be competing for Australian selection for the upcoming tours in 2020.

“The NCIC provides not just another high level T20 national cricket competition between different states, but also provides an even level and totally accessible playing field where everyone is treated equally and with outmost respect,” Victorian Men’s Deaf Coach Dean Barton-Smith said of the event.

“The competition is always of a high standard, yet the camaraderie is positively infectious. I really enjoy coaching, developing and motivating this Victorian Deaf & Hard of Hearing Squad and watching them see their true potentials evolve in the process.”

The Men’s Blind Coach Brett Wilson echoed these comments.

“It has enabled me to experience different cultures, religions, countries, and I have fond memories of the players I’ve played against and with, but most of all it has given me my family and for that I will be eternally grateful,” he said.

Cricket Victoria congratulates all players who have been selected for the teams and look forward to following their progress throughout the tournament.

VIC Inellectual Disability Team
Lachie Macrae (C)
Gavin Hicks
David Alford
Daynah Hopkins
Nathan Samuel
Steve Teloniatis
Brett Mackey
Benjamin Smith
Jamie Phillips
Richard Curtis
Mitchell Lawrence
Damien Clarke
Patrick Whelan
Coach: Tom Ewing
Assistant Coach: Luke Gandy
Manager: Kellie Britt

VIC Deaf Women’s Team
Marnie Kerridge (C)
Ekaterini Sakellarios (VC)
Sherrie Beaver
Lisa Larcombe
Tamara Trinder-Scacco
Kayla Trinder-Scacco
Stephanie McDonald
Alisha Wormald
Melanie Pritchard
Tameka Browning
Lorraine Sorono
Coach: Di Day
Manager: Melissa Hale

VIC Deaf Men’s Team
Michael Parremore (C)
Scott Hellens
Callum Asbury
Tony Barulovski
Ben Morrison
Nick Gooley
Zac King
Kenneth Larcombe
Glen Flindell
Eddie Boal
Tom Sharples
Tyson Hay
Lachlan Waters
Coach: Dean Barton-Smith
Manager: James Hale 

VIC Blind Team
Ned Brewer-Maiga (C)
Brendan Spencer
Nathan Luke
Brett Wilson
David Gauci
Steve Obeid
Callum Sanders
John Boland
Matthew Cameron
Lachlan Hayward
Christopher Gould
Jasper Steeds
Travis Zimmer
Manager: Jodie Hunter

Recent Posts
  • Categories


Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.

No products in the cart.