Cricket Victoria celebrates Community Cricket Awards winners

April 14, 2021
Category: Community,
Cricket Victoria celebrates Community Cricket Awards winners

Cricket Victoria congratulates all winners who were toasted last night at the Community Cricket Awards.

Held at the CitiPower Centre, the night included presentations to recipients of both 50 Year Service Recognition Awards and the A Sport For All Awards, celebrating the great contribution and achievements by many across Victorian cricket.

During the Awards, 32 recipients were recognised for their contributions to Victorian cricket for 50 or more years.

Among those recipients was Alan Campbell. Alan first started coaching Juniors at St Mary’s Cricket Club in Dandenong in 1977 where he embraced coach education and encouraged others to do so. Today he continues to contribute by coaching juniors and is the Junior Cricket Coordinator, while still playing in the club’s 4th XI.

Cricket Victoria also announced its winners of the A Sport For All Awards, which highlights those within the community who promote inclusion and diversity.

Cricket Victoria CEO Andrew Ingleton said cricket would not be what it is without our thousands of volunteers.

“These awards recognise and celebrate those people in the community who make a significant contribution to cricket and allow the whole community to be involved in the game we all love.”

A full list of the recipients from both the A Sport For All and 50 Year Service Awards is below:

50 Year Service Recipients:

Ian Cook
John Wheeler
Dennis Davie
Peter Wright
John Cassidy
Ross White
Les Boyd
Neil R Purdy
Douglas Patrick
Stephen Yeats
John Park
Derrick Marsden
Paul Bain
Graham Ellis
Peter Mannix
Jeffrey Law
Allan Stamps
David Cafarella
Steve Kish
Brendan Bell
Alan Campbell
Tony Mash
Felicity McFarlane
John Brooks
Adrian Hammond
Barry McFarlane
Kevin Rooke
Bill McMahon
Ken Gannon
Martien Pruysers
Phillip McTaggart
James Geltch

Award Winners:

Community Match Official of the Year: Santosh Bastakoti

Indoor Facility of the Year: Nimble Hits Sports Stadium (Geelong)

Technology and Media Initiative of the Year: Burwood District Cricket Club

Community Partnership of the Year: Shah-e-Najaf Foundation & Hume Cricket Club

Women and Girls Initiative of the Year: Hamilton & District Cricket Association and Western Waves Cricket Region

Inclusion and Diversity Initiative of the Year: Daniel Pritchard (Victorian Blind Cricket Association)

Cricket in Schools: St Mary MacKillop College (Swan Hill)

Young Leader of the Year: Nathan Fitzpatrick (Bendigo and District Cricket Association)

Junior Cricket Initiative of the Year: Wimmera Girls Cricket League

Community Cricket Coach of the Year: Rob Ward (Western Region Junior Cricket Association)

Premier Club of the Year: Ringwood Cricket Club

Community Cricket Association of the Year: Swan Hill District Cricket Association

Community Cricket Club of the Year: Mount Waverley Cricket Club

Volunteer of the Year: Nathan Fitzpatrick (Bendigo and District Cricket Association)

Full Stream:

Recent Posts
  • Categories


Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.

No products in the cart.