Victorians win three National Community Cricket Awards

May 19, 2022
Category: Community,
Victorians win three National Community Cricket Awards

Cricket Victoria (CV) congratulates the state’s winners at the 2022 National Community Cricket Awards.

Three Victorian nominees claimed top honours at a national level, having previously won the relevant category at CV’s 2022 Community Cricket Awards.

Darrell Holt won the Community Match Official of the Year award, Wayne Schultz claimed the Celebrating Cricket in Schools award and Box Hill Action Indoor Sports was named the Indoor Facility of the Year.

Burwood Cricket Club’s Ellie Campbell was the runner-up in the Young Leader of the Year Award, while Colac and District Cricket Association was runner-up in the Community Cricket Association of the Year Award.

“We congratulate our three Victorian award winners on their acknowledgement and recognise the work that they and so many others do in developing cricket in our state,” Cricket Victoria CEO, Nick Cummins, said.

“Cricket, like all sports, relies on the time and effort invested by members of the community to ensure positive experiences for all participants. We can’t thank those people enough for their contributions.”

Mr Holt, an umpire with four decades’ involvement with the game, has stood in over 700 matches at Premier level or higher. His award reflects a long-standing commitment to officiating – including as Director of Umpiring for North West Metropolitan Cricket Association and as a mentor for developing umpires in Victorian Premier Cricket, alongside other roles.

Mr Schultz was recognised for his work at Roxburgh Park Primary School in helping to drive engagement and growth in the game, among his involvement in various cricket programs and initiatives.

Box Hill Action Indoor Sports is now in its 38th year of operation and was acknowledged for supporting the game across the community, including growth of junior participation and female cricket.

National Community Cricket Awards – Winners
• Celebrating Cricket in Schools – Wayne Schultz
• Community Match Official of the Year – Darrell Holt
• Indoor Facility of the Year – Box Hill Action Indoor Sports

Recent Posts
  • Categories


Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.

No products in the cart.