CitiPower Centre ready to host Under-16 International Series

April 12, 2018
CitiPower Centre ready to host Under-16 International Series

Cricket Australia has announced a 14-player Australia Under-16s squad to compete in a six-match International Series against Pakistan in April at Cricket Victoria’s CitiPower Centre.

The squad, which features three Victorians in Jake Fraser-McGurk (Victoria Metro), Campbell Griffiths (Victoria Country) and Yash Pednekar (Victoria Metro), will play five 50-over matches and one Twenty 20 match between April 17 and April 27 at the state-of-the-art Junction Oval complex.

The tournament will be yet another quality fixture Junction Oval has hosted since it’s redevelopment, having recently hosted State Championships finals, a round of JLT Sheffield Shield and the Victorian Premier Cricket final.

Players were selected following the 2016 School Sport Australia 15 & Under Boys National Championship, with the majority of the squad forming the Cricket Australia XI that competed at the Cricket Australia Under 17 National Championships in Octobe4r.

Fraser-McGurk was the third-highest run-scorer at that event with 321 runs at 45.80, so will be looking to continue his run of form in this series against Pakistan.

Pednekar averaged 41.40 with the bat at the same tournament, while Griffiths claimed seven wickets including best figures of 6-57.

The chance for the team to play against international opposition will be a fantastic learning experience for all, however the squad will also have plenty of experience on the coaching front.

Former Tasmania captain and coach Dan Marsh will be the head coach, with former New South Wales fast bowler and now Cricket NSW Country Coaching and Talent Manager Mark Cameron as his assistant.

Australia and Pakistan have competed in a number of international series at Under-16 level in recent years.

The most recent series was played in Dubai in early 2017, with Pakistan claiming a 5-1 series win across three 50-over and three T20 matches at the ICC Academy.

That Australian squad was led by rising star Mackenzie Harvey, who now 17 years of age, has since gone on to score a half-century for the Cricket Australia XI against England in a one-day match, and be signed as an injury replacement player by the Melbourne Renegades for BBL|07.

All ODI matches begin at 9:30am, while the Twenty20 fixture kicks off at 10:00am.

Entry is free.

Australia Under 16s Squad
Kyle Brazell – SA
Jake Fraser-McGurk VIC
Campbell Griffiths VIC
Michael Herbst – WA
Mac Jenkins – NSW
Brock Larance – NSW
Jet Liebke – QLD
Mitchell Pascoe – QLD
Yash Pednekar VIC
Samuel Rahaley – SA
Suraj Rajesh – SA
Tanveer Sangha – NSW
Hugh Sheriff – NSW
Brad Simpson – NSW

Coach: Dan Marsh
Assistant Coach: Mark Cameron

Australia Under 16s Series v Pakistan – Fixtures
April 17 – 1st Youth ODI
April 19 – 2nd Youth ODI
April 21 – 3rd Youth ODI
April 24 – 4th Youth ODI
April 26 – 5th Youth ODI
April 27 – 1st Youth T20

Recent Posts
  • Categories


Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.

No products in the cart.