Cricket Victoria celebrates 50-Year Volunteers

December 27, 2019
Category: News,
Cricket Victoria celebrates 50-Year Volunteers

Cricket Victoria has paid tribute to long-term volunteers at the 50 Year Service Awards on Day 3 of the Domain Boxing Day Test against New Zealand at the MCG. This is the 16th consecutive year of the awards, that look to highlight those who have contributed outstanding service as either a player, coach, official, administrator or volunteer of our great game.

Hosted in the historic Olympic Room, 23 recipients, who were nominated by their peers, receive a framed certificate signed by Cricket Australia CEO Kevin Roberts and Cricket Victoria CEO Andrew Ingleton to thank them for their contribution and commitment to cricket in Victoria.

Local clubs and associations rely heavily on the passion, hard work and dedication of the large volunteer cricket community who invest enormous time in the successful running of our game.

Among those recognised is Michael Brettargh, who has given 65 years of outstanding service to St Barnabas Cricket Club. Michael has spent his entire career at St Barnabas CC, beginning in 1955.  Michael enjoyed a decorated playing career which spanned close to 400 senior games and many junior games, as well as being a premiership player and premiership captain. He also spent over a decade on the club committee including a long stint as President.

Even though he has stopped playing, Michael makes the trip every Saturday by public transport from Ballarat to North Balwyn to watch his beloved club. He always makes sure he has a jacket, so he can go out and umpire. He helps out with scoring and assists with club duties in any way he can. He’s often described as a true gentleman, wonderful clubman and a cricket lover.

The Awards are a fantastic opportunity for Victorian Cricket to thank local heroes like Michael, that make community cricket possible.

Cricket Victoria would like to congratulate the 23 volunteers who thoroughly deserve their award for their tireless contribution to cricket for over 50 years:

Name Club/s Years of service
Russell Baldi
Numurkah Youth Club, Numurkah Youth CC 50 years
Michael Brettargh St Barnabas CC 65 years
Robert Butler Harrisfield CC, Parkfield CC 60 years
John Edgar Burwood CC 52 years
Malcolm Fielden Burwood CC 51 years
Raymond Finn Victoria CC, Teachers’ CC, Buckley Park CC 53 years
Ian Fyfe Blackburn South CC 55 years
Anthony Grace Camberwell CC 50 years
Nick Hamer South Croydon CC 50 years
Ivo Havard Werribee CC 50 years
Brian Hedger Camrea CC, East Preston YCW, Croxton Methodist CC, Riverside CC 51 years
Peter Hogan Bonbeach CC, Chelsea YCW Junior Sporting Club 50 years
Graeme Hudson Coburg CC, Broadmeadows CC, Preston CC, Taylors Lakes CC 50 years
Julian Hughes Washington CC, Glen Waverley Church of Christ CC, Eastern Umpires Association 60 years
Lawrie Jephcott Camrea CC 53 years
Allan Logan Washington/Washington Park CC, SECA 55 years
Ron Luff Burwood CC, Northcote CC, Hawthorn East CC 53 years
Mark McInnes Springvale CC 50 years
Ian McRae Jung CC, Burwood Uniting Canterbury CC 55 years
Mervyn Miller Blackburn South CC 55 years
Ian Pritchard Box Hill Methodists CC, Springvale CC, Leopold CC, Drysdale CC, Geelong Seniors CC, Geelong CC, Australian Over 60s 53 years
Geoff Stafford Hexham CC, Mortlake CC, South West Cricket Association 57 years
Colin Young Blackburn South CC 51 years


Recent Posts
  • Categories


Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.

No products in the cart.