Russ and Devchand win Premier Cricket’s top honours in season 2021-22

April 30, 2022
Category: Premier Cricket,
Russ and Devchand win Premier Cricket’s top honours in season 2021-22

Footscray batting all-rounder Dean Russ and Ringwood all-rounder Bhavisha Devchand are this morning toasting their success after winning the Jack Ryder Medal and Una Paisley Medal respectively at the Kookaburra Premier Cricket Awards held at the MCG last night.

It was a second Paisley Medal for Devchand, having shared the honour with Kim Garth in the 2019-20 season. Devchand polled 33 votes finishing six votes clear of Carlton’s wicketkeeper-batter Sophie Reid while Box Hill’s Zoe Griffiths finished in third place on 26 votes.

Devchand played in all 13 One-Day matches across the season and finished with 557 runs at 46.42, taking 17 wickets and 5 catches. She becomes the 9th player in the history of the Una Paisley Medal to win the award twice in their career (only Sharon Tredrea (5 times) has won it more).

In winning the Ryder count, Russ becomes the first Footscray player to win the Ryder Medal in more than 40 years, following in the footsteps of former West Indies international John Shepherd and Barry Watson who last won for the Bulldogs in 1979-80.

Russ, who is also Cricket Victoria’s High Performance Manager, polled 30 votes to win by two votes over Geelong all-rounder Hayden Butterworth and Carlton batter Harrison Smyth.

Russ played in 11 matches for the season and finished with 404 runs at 57.71 while taking 12 wickets and claiming 7 catches.

Jack Ryder Medal
Dean Russ (Footscray)

Una Paisley Medal
Bhavisha Devchand (Ringwood)

Women’s Premier Cricket Awards 2021-22

Women’s Premier Firsts Best First Season Player
Zoe Samuel (Melbourne)

Women’s Premier Seconds Player of the Season (Sue Woolcock Award)
Tegan Rule (Ringwood)

Women’s Premier Thirds Player of the Season
Montana Phillips (Dandenong)

Women’s Premier Team of the Season 2021-22
Bhavisha Devchand – Ringwood (Captain)
Sophie Reid – Carlton (wk)
Amy Vine – Melbourne
Una Raymond-Hoey – Ringwood
Kim Garth – Dandenong
Cailin Green – Carlton
Zoe Griffiths – Box Hill
Ella Hayward – Melbourne
Holly Spencer – Box Hill
Hasrat Gill – Melbourne
Samantha Bates – Essendon Maribyrnong Park
Madison Albers – Carlton

Men’s Premier Cricket Awards 2021-22

Aaron Finch Medal (Vic Super Slam Player of the Year)
James Nanopoulos (Frankston Peninsula)

Men’s Premier Seconds Player of the Season
Ryan Aikman (Geelong)

Men’s Premier Thirds Player of the Season
Kyle Parrott (Melbourne)

Men’s Premier Fourths Player of the Season
James Rosham (Melbourne)

Men’s Premier Team of the Season
Adam Crosthwaite – St Kilda (Captain)
Tom Rogers – Ringwood
Hayden Butterworth – Geelong
Harrison Smyth – Carlton
Jack Harper – Melbourne (wk)
Jack Lalor – Northcote
Dean Russ – Footscray
Fergus O’Neill – Melbourne
Ruwantha Kellepotha – Casey South Melbourne
Dominic Matarazzo – Richmond
Michael Topp – Northcote
Liam Bowe – Essendon

Recent Posts
  • Categories


Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.

No products in the cart.