Sutherland and Short named Australian Cricket Award Winners

Sutherland and Short named Australian Cricket Award Winners

Victorian's Annabel Sutherland and Matt Short have taken out two of the major awards at the 2022/23 Australian Cricket Awards.

Sutherland’s efforts at a domestic level were rewarded with winning the Women’s Domestic Player of the Year. 

The 21-year-old started the current Women’s National Cricket League in red-hot form, scoring the first century of her elite cricketing career when she smacked 110 not out off 101 balls against South Australia at Karen Rolton Oval.

She followed that up with another ton less than a fortnight later, stroking 111 from 114 deliveries against reigning champions Tasmania at Junction Oval.

Tasked with greater responsibility in a Stars line-up missing the experience of Meg Lanning, Sutherland produced a career-best campaign with both bat and ball.

Matt Short’s emergence as a white ball player continued this summer, taking out the Big Bash League’s Player of the Tournament.

The 25-year-old finished the regular season as the tournament’s top run-scorer with 458 striking at 144.47 to win the award by three votes ahead of Perth Scorchers wicketkeeper-batter Josh Inglis.

He also collected 11 wickets to showcase his all-round prowess, opening the bowling for the Adelaide Strikers with his off-spin in every match with best figures of 3-14.

Award Winners:

Belinda Clark Award – Beth Mooney

Allan Border Medal – Steve Smith

Women’s ODI Player of the Year – Beth Mooney

Women’s T20I Player of the Year – Tahlia McGrath

Shane Warne Men’s Test Player of the Year – Usman Khawaja

Men’s ODI Player of the Year – David Warner

Men’s T20I Player of the Year – Marcus Stoinis

Women’s Domestic Player of the Year – Annabel Sutherland

Men’s Domestic Player of the Year – Michael Neser

KFC BBL|12 Player of the Tournament – Matt Short

Weber WBBL|08 Player of the Tournament – Ashleigh Gardner

Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year – Courtney Sippel

Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year – Lance Morris

Community Champion Award – Usman Khawaja

Woolworths Cricket Blaster of the Year – Mabel Tovey

Australian Cricket Hall of Fame inductees – Marg Jennings and Ian Redpath 



The awards for international cricket are based on votes from players, umpires and the media on a 3-2-1 basis from each match.   

For the domestic awards, the votes are collected from all players. 

Recent Posts

Please note that Lane Bookings cannot be purchased in the same cart transaction as other online shop orders – they must be purchased separately.

No products in the cart.