Victoria confirms Shield squad for Adelaide

October 6, 2020
Victoria confirms Shield squad for Adelaide

Victoria has confirmed its 18-man squad for the opening matches of the Marsh Sheffield Shield season which gets underway in Adelaide this month.

Peter Handscomb continues as Captain for a fourth consecutive season while former West Australian paceman Simon Mackin has also been named in the squad.

Aaron Finch, Glenn Maxwell and James Pattinson are unavailable due to Indian Premier League commitments.

“We’ve lost some experience in our fast bowling stocks, so Simon Mackin comes in to provide some added support,” Victorian Coach Chris Rogers said.

“Simon’s performed well in our intra-squad matches and deserves his opportunity.

“We’ve been able to spend some valuable time in the middle in recent weeks after what has been a long and unique pre-season for the players.

“They’ve embraced the challenges with a positive attitude and they’re excited to get stuck into the season.”

Players and support staff arrived in Adelaide on Monday and are undergoing a quarantine period before the season opener later this month.

Victorian squad for opening Marsh Sheffield matches:

Peter Handscomb (Captain)
Scott Boland
Xavier Crone
Travis Dean
Zak Evans
Jake Fraser-McGurk
Seb Gotch
Sam Harper
Marcus Harris
Jon Holland
Nic Maddinson
Simon Mackin
Todd Murphy
Jono Merlo
Mitch Perry
Will Pucovski
Matt Short
Will Sutherland

Recent Posts
  • Categories


Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.

No products in the cart.