Victoria name 13-player squad for trip to Adelaide

Victoria name 13-player squad for trip to Adelaide

Victoria have named a 13-player squad ahead of its Marsh Sheffield Shield match against South Australia at the Adelaide Oval, starting on Tuesday.

Scott Boland has been rested for the game as part of Cricket Australia’s planning ahead of the international summer, with Peter Siddle returning to the squad.

Boland will still travel to Adelaide in a mentoring capacity to support the squad in the build-up to the match.

Todd Murphy will also miss the trip due to shoulder soreness, with left-arm spinner Doug Warren retaining his spot following his Sheffield Shield debut last week at the MCG.

Cricket Victoria’s Head of Male Cricket, David Hussey, said the team were looking to continue their momentum following a thrilling victory last week against Queensland.

“After a superb win against the Bulls at the MCG, we’re looking forward to getting out to Adelaide and building on our performance last week,” Hussey said.

“The Redbacks are a strong side, and it will be a great contest between 3rd and 4th in the Sheffield Shield standings.

“With this being our last game before the BBL kicks off, it is a fantastic opportunity for our players to put their hands up for Test selection.

“We continue to work with Cricket Australia to manage Scott Boland before a big international summer, with the plan being to build up to the Tests against Pakistan and the West Indies.

“We’re keen to have Scott around the group in Adelaide as a senior player to support and assist our younger players. He will still train with the boys, and it is a good opportunity for him to keep hitting his workloads while also being around the group.

“We’ve taken a cautious approach with Todd and while he was close to playing, we feel it is best to make sure he is 100% fit before he returns to the side.

“It is a great opportunity for Doug Warren to play a second straight game after an impressive debut last week against Queensland.”

Will Sutherland – C (Prahran)
Xavier Crone (Carlton)
Travis Dean (Footscray)
Peter Handscomb (St Kilda)
Sam Harper (Melbourne)
Marcus Harris (St Kilda)
Campbell Kellaway (Melbourne)
Jon Merlo (St Kilda)
Fergus O’Neill (Melbourne)
Mitch Perry (Richmond)
Will Pucovski (Melbourne)
Peter Siddle (Dandenong)
Doug Warren (Melbourne University)

Marsh Sheffield Shield:
South Australia v Victoria
November 28 – December 1, 11.00AM AEDT
Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
Coverage: & Kayo Sports

Recent Posts

Please note that Lane Bookings cannot be purchased in the same cart transaction as other online shop orders – they must be purchased separately.

No products in the cart.