Victorian men’s and women’s contract lists confirmed for 2020/21

Victorian men’s and women’s contract lists confirmed for 2020/21

Cricket Victoria has confirmed the state Victorian men’s and women’s contract lists for the upcoming 2020/21 season.

Leg spinner Wil Parker, who made his Sheffield Shield debut last season and is also a talented footballer, has signed his first full Victorian contract, while Ireland international Kim Garth has signed with the Victorian women’s squad.

In total 28 players have been named in the men’s squad including three Cricket Australia contracted players – Aaron Finch, Glenn Maxwell and James Pattinson – and six rookie-listed players.

Joining Parker in the squad are first time rookies Brody Couch (Geelong), Tom Jackson (Geelong), Cameron McClure (Essendon) and Todd Murphy (St Kilda).

“Wil Parker is a talented athlete and we’re excited he’s chosen to pursue cricket,” Cricket Victoria’s General Manager of Cricket Shaun Graf said.

“He gave us a glimpse of what he’s got to offer in his two Shield games last season, we believe he’s got the skill and temperament to succeed in what is a difficult cricketing artform.  His initial experiences last season will hopefully give him some added confidence moving forward in his career.”

Peter Siddle has departed for Tasmania while Chris Tremain will join New South Wales. Andrew Fekete (retired), Aaron Ayre, Jackson Coleman, Jake Reed, Eamonn Vines and Ed Newman (rookie) were not offered contracts for the upcoming season.

Tremain departs Victoria having picked up 209 wickets in 54 First-Class games for the state and was awarded the Bill Lawry Medal in 2017-18.

“’Trem’ had a taste of First-Class cricket in New South Wales but he really established himself as one of the leading fast bowlers in Shield cricket with us over the last few years,” Graf said.

“That form has seen him go very close to Australian Test selection on a number of occasions, hopefully he achieves that ambition one day. He has been a consistent performer and a good team person to have around our group during the several seasons he was with us. While we’re disappointed to see him go, it was a contract that gave him long term security while fulfilling a desire to return home to NSW to be closer to his family.”

A total 20 players have been named in the women’s squad including six Cricket Australia contracted players – Meg Lanning, Sophie Molineux, Ellyse Perry, Annabel Sutherland, Tayla Vlaeminck and Georgia Wareham.

Overseas signing Kim Garth has played One-Day and Twenty20 cricket for Ireland and has represented Sydney Sixers and Perth Scorchers in the WBBL.

Sophie Day (Plenty Valley), Bhavisha Devchand (Ringwood), Zoe Griffiths (Box Hill) and Anna Lanning (Box Hill) are the other new additions to the squad.

Alana King has joined Western Australia, Kristen Beams announced her retirement while Rhiann O’Donnell and Chloe Rafferty were not offered contracts for the upcoming season.

“Kim Garth has played a lot of cricket within Australia in recent seasons and brings further international experience to the squad. She will play as an overseas player initially however she intends to apply for permanent residency allowing her the opportunity to hopefully one day play for Australia,” Graf said.

“Under the guidance of newly appointed Head coach, Lachlan Stevens, we’ll enter the season with an exciting mix of Australia’s best international players, talented young prospects and those looking to really establish themselves.”

Victorian Men’s squad: Scott Boland (Frankston Peninsula), Xavier Crone (Carlton), Travis Dean (Footscray), Zak Evans (Ringwood), Aaron Finch* (Geelong), Jake Fraser-McGurk (Monash Tigers), Sebastian Gotch (Melbourne), Peter Handscomb (St Kilda), Sam Harper (Melbourne), Marcus Harris (St Kilda), Mackenzie Harvey (Carlton), Jon Holland (Frankston Peninsula), Nic Maddinson (St Kilda), Glenn Maxwell* (Fitzroy Doncaster), Jonathan Merlo (St Kilda), Tom O’Connell (Geelong), Wil Parker (Monash Tigers), James Pattinson* (Dandenong), Mitch Perry (Monash Tigers), Will Pucovski (Melbourne), Matthew Short (Northcote), Will Sutherland (Prahran)

Rookies: Brody Couch (Geelong), Sam Elliott (Fitzroy Doncaster), Tom Jackson (Geelong), Cameron McClure (Essendon), Todd Murphy (St Kilda), Patrick Rowe (St Kilda)

In: Wil Parker, Brody Couch (Rookie), Tom Jackson (Rookie), Cameron McClure (Rookie), Todd Murphy (Rookie)

Rookie upgrades: Jake Fraser-McGurk, Jonathan Merlo, Mitch Perry

Out: Aaron Ayre, Jackson Coleman, Andrew Fekete (retired), Jake Reed, Peter Siddle (Tas), Chris Tremain (NSW), Eamonn Vines, Ed Newman (Rookie)

Victorian Women’s squad: Makinley Blows (Essendon Maribyrnong Park), Lucy Cripps (Dandenong), Sophie Day (Plenty Valley), Bhavi Devchand (Ringwood), Elly Donald (Melbourne), Nicole Faltum (Dandenong), Tess Flintoff (Ringwood), Kim Garth (Dandenong), Zoe Griffiths (Box Hill), Anna Lanning (Box Hill), Meg Lanning* (Box Hill), Sophie Molineux* (Dandenong), Courtney Neale (Dandenong), Ellyse Perry* (Dandenong), Molly Strano (Essendon Maribyrnong Park), Annabel Sutherland* (Prahran), Elyse Villani (Essendon Maribyrnong Park), Amy Vine (Melbourne), Tayla Vlaeminck* (Plenty Valley), Georgia Wareham* (Essendon Maribyrnong Park)

In: Sophie Day, Bhavi Devchand, Kim Garth, Zoe Griffiths, Anna Lanning

Out: Kristen Beams (retired), Alana King (WA), Rhiann O’Donnell, Chloe Rafferty

 *Cricket Australia contracted player

Recent Posts

Please note that Lane Bookings cannot be purchased in the same cart transaction as other online shop orders – they must be purchased separately.

No products in the cart.