Lanning, Perry & Sutherland picked for World Cup

January 26, 2022
Lanning, Perry & Sutherland picked for World Cup

Victorian Trio Meg Lanning (c), Ellyse Perry and Annabel Sutherland have been selected in the 15-player squad for the upcoming ICC Women’s World Cup in New Zealand.

Speaking on the squad, National Selector, Shawn Flegler said:

“We’ve been able to put together a really talented squad with some fresh faces as well as players with significant World Cup experience.

Victorian’s Sophie Molineux, Tayla Vlaeminck and Georgia Wareham will unfortunately miss the tournament through injury.

“Sophie Molineux unfortunately misses out due to injury; she was unlikely to be available until the backend of the tournament and with limited match time and having to complete ten days managed isolation, it was a tough call, but we weren’t prepared to take the risk.

“It’s incredibly disappointing for Tayla to miss out as well. We’re really disappointed for her after injuring her foot again and will continue to work with her as she recovers” Fleglar said.

Australia will travel to New Zealand on February 10 where players and staff will complete 10 days managed isolation, before the team begins its World Cup campaign against defending champions, England on Saturday 5 March in Hamilton.

Australian squad:
Darcie Brown
Nic Carey
Ash Gardner
Grace Harris
Rachael Haynes
Alyssa Healy
Jess Jonassen
Alana King
Meg Lanning (C)
Tahlia McGrath
Beth Mooney
Ellyse Perry
Megan Schutt
Annabel Sutherland
Amanda-Jade Wellington

Aussie cricket fans can watch every ball of every match of the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2022 live and free on Kayo Sports.

Australia World Cup Fixtures:
5 March, 12pm, Australia v England, Seddon Park, Hamilton
8 March, 12pm, Australia v Pakistan, Bay Oval, Tauranga
13 March, 9am, New Zealand v Australia, Basin Reserve, Wellington
15 March, 9am, Australia v West Indies, Basin Reserve, Wellington
19 March, 12pm, India v Australia, Eden Park, Auckland
22 March, 9am, South Africa v Australia, Basin Reserve, Wellington
25 March, 9am, Bangladesh v Australia, Basin Reserve, Wellington

*All times are AEDT

Recent Posts
  • Categories


Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.

No products in the cart.