Victorian Gavan Hicks to captain Australian INAS Tri-Nations Series squad

June 27, 2017
Victorian Gavan Hicks to captain Australian INAS Tri-Nations Series squad

Cricket Australia has selected a 14 player squad for the INAS Tri-Nations Series to be held from July 9 - 23 in Cheshire, England, which includes five Victorians.

Lachlan MacRae, Mitchell Cutter Rabl, Daynah Hopkins and David Alford will be led by fellow Victorian Gavan Hicks, who has been named captain.

The tournament will bring together the best cricketers with an intellectual disability from Australia, England and South Africa.

The historic tour marks the first time an Australian Cricket team for players with any type of disability has travelled abroad since Commonwealth Bank and Cricket Australia announced the country’s single largest investment in women’s sport and diversity sports programs.

The Australian side departs for the UK on July 4, looking to claim back the title it last won in 2009. After bringing home silverware at the first three editions of the event, Australia finished third in 2011 and runner-up in 2015.

At this event, Australia will have two opportunities to claim a title with separate 40 over and Twenty20 tournaments being contested between the three nations.

Head coach John Lonergan believes increased professionalism and a targeted approach over the last two years gives his squad every chance of making up significant ground on defending champions England.

“In 2015 the coaching team identified a large gap between the athleticism and fielding ability of England compared to that of the Australian Squad,” said Lonergan.

“This has been a specific focus right from the start in identifying the initial training squad of 22 players.”

Former Australian Test and ODI cricketer Julien Wiener will also join the coaching support staff on tour as a player mentor having worked closely with several members of the squad at the National Cricket Inclusion Championships in Geelong.

“I’ve been so impressed with how excited and proud these guys are to represent their country and how this has positively reflected in their preparation and willingness to learn and get better,” said Wiener.

“This is a squad with a strong team first ethic who are always looking for ways to support their teammates.”

Australia will open their campaign on 11 July against England in a 40 over match.

2017 National ID Squad

Gavan Hicks (Captain) – VIC

Lachlan MacRae – VIC

Mitchell Cutter Rabl – VIC

Daynah Hopkins – VIC

David Alford – VIC

Brett Wilson – QLD

Haydn Brumm – QLD

Brendan Westlake – QLD

David Baird – QLD

Nicholas McConnell – QLD

Boyd Duffield – WA

Anthony Kalimeris – WA

Luke Goodman – SA

Justin Nilon – TAS

John Lonergan – Head Coach

Nathan Dodd – Assistant Coach

Jo Connolly – Team Manager

Julien Wiener – Coach and Player Mentor

Recent Posts
  • Categories


Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.

No products in the cart.