Vics named on National Umpire Panel

June 12, 2012
Category: Umpires,
Vics named on National Umpire Panel

Victoria's Ash Barrow, Geoff Joshua, John Ward and Tony Ward have been rewarded for their solid form in the middle by retaining their positions on the National Umpire Panel for the 2012-13 season.

Tasmania’s Sam Nogajski is the sole inclusion on the 12-man panel, replacing Cricket Victoria Umpire Manager Bob Parry, who retired in March following a decorated domestic and international career.

Former Bushrangers spearhead Paul Reiffel has retained his position on the panel and is one of three umpires Cricket Australia has nominated to the International Panel, who can officiate in international matches as appointed by the International Cricket Council (ICC) or Cricket Australia (CA).

During today’s announcement, CA Cricket Operations General Manager Geoff Allardice said it was pleasing that Australian umpiring was in such great health and particularly congratulated Nogajski on his invitation to the panel.

“We have 12 quality umpires who are dedicated to improving the standard of officiating and who are dedicated to continuing Australia’s proud history of producing quality umpires who have come through the development pathway and often on to international honours,” Mr Allardice said.

 “I congratulate each of them on their invitation, but particularly to Sam who joins the panel for the first time in 2012-13 after showing great improvement in the last 12 to 24 months.

“Sam officiated in two first-class matches last summer, making his debut in the Bupa Sheffield Shield match between Queensland and New South Wales at the Gabba and I wish him well for the coming season as he takes the next step-up in his umpiring career.”

In addition to this morning’s announcement, CA also advised that former Bushranger Shawn Craig was one three umpires who will be officiating in the under-19 international series between Australia and Pakistan on the Gold Coast in July.

Joining Craig, who played 20 first-class matches for Victoria between 1996 and 2011, will be Paul Wilson and Greg Davidson.

The 2012-13 National Umpire Panel is: Ash Barrow, Geoff Joshua, John Ward, Tony Ward, Paul Reiffel, Gerard Abood, Simon Fry, Ian Lock, Michael Martell, Sam Nogajski, Bruce Oxenford and Paul Wilson.

Recent Posts
  • Categories


Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.

No products in the cart.