Victoria names squad for opening WNCL round

September 19, 2018
Victoria names squad for opening WNCL round

Victoria has named an experienced squad of 12 for the opening round of the Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL) this week in Western Australia.

The Victorians head to Perth where they will face Western Australia and South Australia on Friday and Saturday respectively. Both fixtures will be played at Murdoch University in the city’s south.

The squad, led by Australian captain Meg Lanning, features five Australians selected in the recent T20 International squad to face New Zealand later this month.

Sophie Molineux, Elyse Villani, Georgia Wareham and Tayla Vlaeminck will all join Lanning in the Australian squad for the upcoming series.

For Villani this week marks her first appearance for Victoria since returning from Western Australia during the winter.

Victorian women’s Head Coach David Hemp said he was confident in the squad’s preparations.

“We know what both Western Australia and South Australia offer and they are dangerous teams who have tasted success in recent seasons. We’re going into these games with the confidence to back our squad to get the results we’re looking for,” Hemp said.

“The return of Elyse Villani is also obviously a great addition given her experience as an international player.”

The squad enters the new campaign looking to improve on its sixth placed finish last season.

Victorian squad:
Meg Lanning (Captain)
Sophie Molineux
Elyse Villani
Makinley Blows
Georgia Wareham
Annabel Sutherland
Emma Inglis (WK)
Nicole Faltum
Alana King
Molly Strano
Tayla Vlaeminck
Chloe Rafferty

Victoria WNCL Opening Fixtures
Friday 21 September – Western Australia v Victoria @ Murdoch University, Perth (11.30am AEST)
Saturday 22 September – Victoria v South Australia @ Murdoch University, Perth (11.30am AEST)

Recent Posts
  • Categories


Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.

No products in the cart.