Melbourne Cricket Club win Women’s Premier Firsts

March 10, 2019
Category: News,
Melbourne Cricket Club win Women’s Premier Firsts

Melbourne Cricket Club has triumphed over Prahran this afternoon to record the club’s first Women’s Premier Firsts One Day title.

In front of great local support at the CitiPower Centre, Melbourne overcame Prahran’s total with 16 balls remaining.

Melbourne skipper Teagan Parker won the toss and sent Prahran in on a cloudy day.

The True Blues were missing Jess Duffin and Annabel Sutherland from their line up but opening batter and captain Emma Inglis got Prahran off to a good start with 29.

Rhys McKenna (21), Erica Kershaw (28), Molly Ward (25) and Merinda Hale (22) all got starts but couldn’t convert as Prahran were bowled out for 159 .

Melbourne’s Stephanie Townsend did the damage with the ball, taking 3-16 off 9 overs.

In reply, Melbourne’s opening pair of Amy Yates and Amy Vine put on a 79-run stand which swung the match in Melbourne’s favour.

The Demons lost wickets in their middle order but it was an important 18 (40) from Ella Hayward that helped to steer Melbourne to the title.

Prahran 159 (44.1 overs) lost to Melbourne 7-161 (47.2 overs)
CitiPower Centre, St Kilda
Full scorecard

Recent Posts
  • Categories


Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.

No products in the cart.