Blind cricket has a rich history in this state with the Victorian Blind Cricket Association (VBCA) celebrating its 90th anniversary in 2012.
Blind cricket was invented in Melbourne in 1922 with the world's first sports ground and clubhouse for blind people developed at Kooyong, Melbourne in 1928
The venue at Kooyong is still used today as the home of the VBCA.
The Association has four clubs, Burwood, Glenferrie, Institute and St. Paul's with approximately 70 visually impaired and blind members and several volunteers.
The game of blind cricket is a version of the game which has been adapted so that it can be played by blind and partially sighted players.
The pitch is made of concrete and measures the same length and width as used in sighted cricket.
The boundaries are measured 40 metres in a circle around the pitch and indicated by a white line with orange witches hats at intervals.
The current ball used is made of white plastic with metal washers inside to give the ball an audible sound when bowled or thrown.
The VBCA provides an important role in the community by developing and providing opportunities for people who are blind or vision impaired to enjoy the recreational and social benefits of cricket.
Additionally, the VBCA participates in cricket matches against sighted opposition in keeping with the philosophy of integration and working to remove barriers and isolating influences of having limited vision.
The ongoing aims and objectives of the VBCA are as follows:
To further promote the game of Blind Cricket in Victoria
Provides sport, fitness, and physical recreation opportunities for individuals of all ages who are legally blind
Aims to improve the physical capabilities and self-confidence of individuals who are blind, visually impaired
For more information on Blind Cricket, visit vbca.org.au
Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.