Victoria Country runners-up

January 13, 2015
Victoria Country runners-up

Victoria has finished in second place at the Australian Country Cricket Championships in Bendigo.

The home side fought back after losing their second match with two victories to end the series but were unable to make up the gap on the title winner Queensland.

Yesterday, a 114-run opening partnership between James McNeil (94) and Rob Wilson (66) set up a 46-run victory over South Australia on the final day of the competition.

Richard Tibbett was a joint winner of the Bill O’Reilly Bowling Award after he amassed 12 wickets.

McNeil was also honoured with the Doug Walters Fielding Award while Tibbett, Adam Ward and Mitchell Winter-Irving were named in the Australia Country XI.

There were more accolades for the home side, securing the Spirit of Cricket Award.

Victorian coach Jason Mathers said he was proud of his team’s performance.

“In the first hour of the tournament we were 5-15 so to come back from that and win the opening match against New South Wales was huge,” Mathers said.

“Ward and Winter-Irving had a huge say in that game, putting on over 100 for the sixth wicket so it was great to see them in the Team of the Tournament.

Mathers also praised the local community for the support the Victorian side received.

“Bendigo was brilliant with the cricket association running the tournament flawlessly,” Mathers said.

“The whole town got behind us, led by the Bendigo Advertiser.”

It was also announced that Mt Gambier, South Australia, will host next year’s event.

Recent Posts
  • Categories


Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.

No products in the cart.