Cricket Victoria crown winners

April 4, 2012
Category: Media Releases,
Cricket Victoria crown winners

The Cricket Victoria Gala Awards culminated at Docklands tonight with Casey-South Melbourne's Clive Rose being crowned the 2011-12 Jack Ryder Medallist.

Having claimed a top-10 finish last season, the 22-year-old put the finishing touches on a golden summer- which included making his Commonwealth Bank Bushrangers debut- by edging out Frankston Peninsula’s Matthew Chasemore and James Miller to claim Kookaburra Premier Cricket’s highest individual accolade.

Shining with both bat and ball, Rose, who demonstrated his class by top-scoring for the Victorian second XI against Sri Lanka during a one-day tour match at the Junction Oval, struck four half-centuries and claimed 35 wickets during an impressive summer for the Swans.

Trailing Chasemore (32) and Miller (31) entering the final round of the season, the Heat duo failed to poll in their eight-wicket loss to Geelong, while Rose was awarded five votes to jump to 34 after snaring 4-20 against Hawthorn-Monash in the Swans’ 47-run victory to leapfrog the pair.

Pre-count heavyweights David King (Ringwood) and Steve Seymour (Prahran) finished fourth and fifth respectively with 29 and 28 votes, while Carlton gloveman Nathan Pilon and True Blues dasher Neil Schlittler were the next men home with 24.

Carlton’s Jake Hancock, Fitzroy Doncaster’s Lloyd Mash, Footscray Edgewater’s Dylan Kight and Melbourne’s Andrew Kent rounded out the top-10.

Not surprisingly, the majority were rewarded with places in the Kookaburra Premier Cricket Team of the Season, with the side featuring King, Hancock, Tom Donnell, Kent, Chasemore, Pilon (Captain), Seymour, Rose, Miller, Ashley Perera, Jeremy Hart and Andrew Fekete.

In the lower grades, Ringwood’s Daniel Coghlan and Melbourne Uni’s Chris Grant tied for the 2nd XI medal after both players polled 25 votes to win by two from Heat skipper Chris Hall.

The 3rd XI medal was also shared with St Kilda’s Steve Zayler and Frankston Peninsula’s Joshua Waldron each polling 19 votes.

Two votes further back were Prahran’s Michael Nyary and Fitzroy Doncaster’s Andrew McCormack.

The 4th XI Player of the Season was claimed by Camberwell Magpies’ Simon Eastham, who was a clear winner after polling 28 votes, to win from Geelong’s Jack Clapham (22) and Dylan Flanigan (20).

In a big night for the Lanning family, Meg was awarded the Sharon Tredrea Trophy and Cathryn Fitzpatrick Award as the WNCL and WT20 Player of the Year, while younger sister Anna secured the women’s Cricket Victoria Future Star Award as the state’s best under-19 player.

Geelong’s Meyrick Buchanan, who debuted for the Melbourne Renegades throughout the season, won the men’s Future Star Award, while the Cats took out the J.A Seitz Club Championship.

Richmond, which broke a 12-year premiership drought in the Kookaburra Premier Cricket Final against Dandenong at the weekend, had further cause for celebration after snaring its maidenSpirit of Cricket Award.

Having just completed his 31st season on the CV Premier Umpire’s Panel, Bill Sheahan received the Umpiring Service Recognition Award.

In total, Sheahan has umpired in 515 Premier matches and is one of only four officials to reach the magical 500 mark, including the first to stand in 350 1st XI games. 

Another 77 times Sheahan was appointed at first-class level including seven Test matches.

The remaining awards were distributed to Melbourne’s Scott West as the Kookaburra Premier Cricket Curator of the Season (Main Oval), while Camberwell Magpies’ Simon White took out the thirds and fourth ground gong.

The 2011-12 Cricket Victoria award winners are:

Jack Ryder Medal – Kookaburra Premier Cricket Player of the Season – Clive Rose

Jack Ryder Medal Votes – Kookaburra Premier Cricket Player of the Season – 1. Clive Rose (Casey-South Melbourne) 34, 2. Matt Chasemore (Frankston Peninsula) 32, 3. James Miller (Frankston Peninsula) 31, 4. David King (Ringwood) 29, 5. Steve Seymour (Prahran) 28, 6. Nathan Pilon (Carlton) 24, 6. Neil Schlittler (Prahran) 24, 8. Jake Hancock (Carlton) 22, 8. Lloyd Mash (Fitzroy Doncaster) 22, 8. Dylan Kight (Footscray Edgewater), 8. Andrew Kent (Melbourne)

Kookaburra Premier Cricket Team of the Season – David King (Ringwood), Jake Hancock (Carlton), Tom Donnell (Dandenong), Andrew Kent (Melbourne), Matt Chasemore (Frankston Peninsula),Nathan Pilon (Carlton) (Captain), Steve Seymour (Prahan), Clive Rose (Casey-South Melbourne), James Miller (Frankston Peninsula), Ashley Perera (Casey-South Melbourne), Jeremy Hart (Geelong) and Andrew Fekete (Camberwell Magpies).

Kookaburra Premier Cricket 2nd XI Player of the Season – Daniel Coghlan (Ringwood) and Chris Grant (Melbourne Uni)

Kookaburra Premier Cricket 3rd XI Player of the Season – Joshua Waldron(Frankston Peninsula) and Steve Zayler (St Kilda)

Kookaburra Premier Cricket 4th XI Player of the Season – Simon Eastham (Camberwell Magpies)

Cricket Victoria Future Star Award – Meyrick Buchanan (Male) & Anna Lanning (Female)

J.A Seitz Club Championship – Geelong Cricket Club

Spirit of Cricket Award – Richmond Cricket Club

Umpiring Service Recognition Award – Bill Sheahan

Umpire Milestone Achievement Awards – Samy Muthugounder, Ken Hobbs, Stu Edwards, Russell Hubbard (100 CV Matches), Steven Davis, Colin Hall, Tony Ventura, Mark Hanton, Damian Herft (200 CV Matches), John Ward, Malcolm Gunn (300 CV Matches) and Dan Bomford (500 CV Matches)

Kookaburra Premier Cricket Curator of the Season (Main Oval)- Scott West: Albert Ground (Melbourne Cricket Club)

Kookaburra Premier Cricket Curator of the Season (Thirds & Fourths Ground) -Simon White: Watson Park (Camberwell Magpies Cricket Club)

Recent Posts
  • Categories


Please note that the bookings for our Cricket Facilities are made in real time and therefore don’t appear in this cart.

No products in the cart.