Victoria name squad for must-win Shield clash

Victoria name squad for must-win Shield clash

Scott Boland returns from international commitments in place of Peter Siddle, while Jon Merlo and Cam McClure have also been named in the squad.

Will Pucovski will miss the match under the mandatory concussion protocols.

Cricket Victoria’s Head of Male Cricket, David Hussey, said:

“It is a simple equation for us heading into this game against Western Australia – we win and we make the Shield final.”

“Our season is in our hands and we have a great opportunity against WA, who we have faced in the last two Shield finals. The boys know the task at hand and are looking forward to returning to the CitiPower Centre and playing some strong cricket.

“We’ve got some players in impressive form, led by Nic Maddinson who is coming off three hundreds in three games, as well as a couple of big inclusions, including Scott Boland, fresh off his international commitments.

“We’re hoping to see a big crowd down throughout the four days, especially on Labour Day to cheer on the team and hopefully see us book a spot in the final.”

Will Sutherland – C (Prahran)
Scott Boland (Frankston)
Xavier Crone (Carlton)
Peter Handscomb (St Kilda)
Sam Harper (Melbourne)
Marcus Harris (St Kilda)
Campbell Kellaway (Melbourne)
Nic Maddinson (St Kilda)
Cam McClure (Essendon)
Jon Merlo (St Kilda)
Todd Murphy (St Kilda)
Fergus O’Neill (Melbourne)
Mitch Perry (Richmond)
Matt Short (Northcote)

Marsh Sheffield Shield
VIC V WA, 11-14 March
10:30AM (AEDT)
CitiPower Centre

Recent Posts

Please note that Lane Bookings cannot be purchased in the same cart transaction as other online shop orders – they must be purchased separately.

No products in the cart.