Cricket Victoria celebrates 2022-23 Premier Cricket award winners

April 29, 2023
Cricket Victoria celebrates 2022-23 Premier Cricket award winners

Essendon Maribyrnong Park captain Makinley Blows and Carlton batsman Harrison Smyth are this morning toasting their success after winning the Una Paisley Medal and Jack Ryder Medal respectively at the Kookaburra Premier Cricket Awards held at the MCG last night.

Blows becomes the fourth player from Essendon Maribyrnong Park (EMP) to win the Una Paisley Medal, joining Jackie Lord in 1986/87, Charmaine Mason in 1995/96 and Clea Smith who won the award twice in 2002/03 and 2004/05. Blows polled 22 votes finishing four votes clear of Dandenong’s Poppy Gardner with Dandenong all-rounder Linsey Smith and EMP teammate Alyssa Humphries tied in third place on 16 votes.

Blows played in 10 One Day matches across the season and finished with 433 runs @ 48.11 with a top score of 112, 10 wickets @ 16.70 (best bowling of 4/34) and five catches. Blows’ performances with the bat saw her finish as the second leading run-scorer in the home and away season, whilst her leadership guided the Bombers to the minor Premiership.

In the Ryder count, Smyth became the seventh Blue to win the Jack Ryder Medal after Keith Stackpole (1975/76, 1977/78 & 1978/79), John Douglas (1982/83), Ian Wrigglesworth (1996/97), Abdul Qadir (1998/99), Carl Hooper (1999/2000) and Michael Allen (2005/06 – tied with St Kilda’s Graeme Rummans).

Smyth who finished runner-up in the 2021/22 count, polled 31 votes to win by one vote over fast-finishing Frankston Peninsula all-rounder James Nanopoulos, with Essendon’s 2019/20 Ryder Medalist James Seymour in third on 26 votes.

Smyth played in 14 matches across the season and finished with 743 runs @ 67.55 with two centuries (top of 123), five 50s and four catches.

Una Paisley Medal
Makinley Blows (Essendon Maribyrnong Park)

Jack Ryder Medal
Harrison Smyth (Carlton)

Women’s Premier Cricket Awards

Women’s Premier Firsts Best First Season Player (June Cole Award)
Jessica Bohn (Dandenong)

Women’s Premier Seconds Player of the Season (Sue Woolcock Award)
Stephanie Townsend (Geelong)

Women’s Premier Thirds Player of the Season
Yolanne Carvalho (Melbourne)

U18 Marg Jennings Cup Player of the Tournament (Meg Lanning Medal)
Matilda Pendergast (Prahran)

Kookaburra Women’s Premier Team of the Season
Makinley Blows – Essendon Maribyrnong Park (Captain)
Bess Heath – Ringwood
Nicole Faltum (wk) – Dandenong
Nipuni Hansika – Plenty Valley
Anna Lanning – Box Hill
Jasmine Nevins – Plenty Valley
Linsey Smith – Dandenong
Poppy Gardner – Dandenong
Katia Jomini – Essendon Maribyrnong Park
Emma Gallagher – Dandenong
Anna O’Donnell – Melbourne
Madison Albers – Carlton

Spirit of Cricket Award

Club Championship

Men’s Premier Cricket Awards

Vic Super Slam Player of the Year (Aaron Finch Medal)
Evan Gulbis (Carlton)

Men’s Premier Seconds Player of the Season
James Doherty (Footscray) & Dhruval Parikh (Richmond)

Men’s Premier Thirds Player of the Season
Brayden Lambden (Casey South Melbourne)

Men’s Premier Fourths Player of the Season
Om Patel (Melbourne University)

U17 Dowling Shield Player of the Tournament
Mikis Vemis (Frankston Peninsula)

Kookaburra Men’s Premier Team of the Season
Blake Thomson – Melbourne (Captain)
Dylan Brasher – Footscray
James Seymour – Essendon
Harrison Smyth – Carlton
Thomas Rogers – Ringwood
Harrish Kannan – Casey South Melbourne
James Nanopoulos – Frankston Peninsula
Liam Banthorpe (wk) – Fitzroy Doncaster
Joe Medew-Ewen – Northcote
Tom O’Donnell – Essendon
Matthew Fotia – Ringwood
Umair Butt – Footscray

Spirit of Cricket Award

Club Championship
St Kilda

Umpire Recognition Award: Glenn Cummings

Recent Posts

Please note that Lane Bookings cannot be purchased in the same cart transaction as other online shop orders – they must be purchased separately.

No products in the cart.